Arizona has two sets of DUI punishments, depending upon where you are on the blood alcohol content or BAC range. A BAC of .08% or more is the basic charge of DUI, while a BAC of .15% or more within two hours of driving or being in control of a vehicle will mean that you are facing an Extreme DUI charge. Legal consequences will vary, depending upon which charge you are convicted on.
The first DUI offense will result in license suspension of 90 days and this can start from the time of your arrest. In addition, you will face a mandatory alcohol and drug abuse screening to determine if you need further counseling. There is mandatory jail time of 24 hours and the maximum incarceration is 10 days for a first DUI conviction. Any conviction will stay on your record for up to seven years and fines will be in the neighborhood of $1600.
An Extreme DUI charge will mean that your license will be revoked for one year and you will have to install at your expense the ignition interlock device. Your fines will be significantly increased as well to close to $2500 total. This is in addition to the above punishments.
Your second DUI conviction within seven years will mean that you will lose your license for a year and you will be spending at least 90 days in jail, if not a year. After your incarceration, you will be responsible for having a court ordered ignition interlock device installed on any cars that you own, as well as pay fines that can range anywhere from $500 to $2500, depending upon the costs that you are found legally liable for. Thirty days of community service are also required, as is alcohol class.
In the case of an second Extreme DUI conviction within five years of the last, another $1700 will have to be paid in fines.
If your third DUI is within seven years of the others, you will be facing a felony charge, which can have lifetime effects on your record. In addition, you will lose your license for 1 year at least. If your other convictions have been within the last seven years, you will lose your license for 3 years. Once you are allowed to drive again, the ignition interlock device will need to be installed on your cars at a cost of at least $1000 per car. Expect to spend at least four months in jail and pay fines of up to $150,000. The court may also take your car while you are in prison. A third conviction has stiff penalties, so be sure you get a lawyer for legal representation.
An Arizona DUI can quickly add up to you not driving and not having a life. With the mandatory community service, alcohol assessment and counseling, fines, jail time, and more, you will find that you need legal help to get your through the process and get your life back together.