Indiana has some penalties that you should know about as far as driving under the influence. A blood alcohol concentration of .08 will result in an arrest and if you are under the age of 21 or a commercial driver, you will have an even lower maximum BAC that you will be subjected to. If you are arrested for a DUI in Indiana, you need to understand that there are some very strict penalties that you are facing that will affect you now and in the future. The best choice is to just not drive while you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol to help ensure that you keep your freedom and your money.
First DUI Offense
There are two different sets of punishments that you will face, depending upon your BAC. A first offense will first mean that you will have your license suspended for at least 180 days with the chance of it receiving a hardship or restricted license in most cases. There is not a minimum jail sentence for the first sentence, but depending upon the aggravating factors, you may face up to 1 year in jail if you have a BAC of .16 or above. Fines can range anywhere from $500 and up and this does not include the cost of court fees, alcohol treatment, or other conditions of your sentence. A first DUI offense will mean that you face very severe punishments, so you want to choose to get a ride instead of driving under the influence.
Second DUI Offense
A second DUI offense will be a felony charge on your record and will result in you losing your license for at least 180 days and up to 2 years. Five days in jail is the minimum sentence and you can face up to three years in jail, depending upon the factors that are involved in your arrest. As far as fines, you will face up to $10,000 in fines and this amount may not include elements of your sentencing, including treatment, evaluation, an ignition interlock device, etc. You also may face up to 2 years on probation for a second DUI offense as well. The look back period is ten years and this means that you are convicted of a DUI offense within this time period it will be counted as the second DUI.
Third DUI Offense
A third conviction for driving under the influence will mean that you face even stricter punishments, including a felony conviction. License suspension will be for a minimum of 1 year and up to 10 years, depending upon the aggravating factors. As far as jail time, you will face a minimum of 10 days in jail and can be facing up to three years in jail. If you are judged to be a habitual offender, you can be in jail for even longer. As far as fines, you will be facing up to $10,000 in fines and these fees can be increased significantly depending upon your sentence requirements, such as drug or alcohol abuse treatment, required ignition interlock device, etc.
While you may think that drinking and driving is something that you will get by with, it is not something that you want to chance in Indiana or in any other state, unless you are willing to pay the price. The penalties can impact not only your life now, but also your future as well, both in your freedom and your financial situation. By having the right lawyer, you can get the attention and the help that you need to make it through the legal process.