The State of New Hampshire has some very strict drunk driving laws. Driving while under the influence (DWI) will mean severe penalties and punishments that will restrict your freedom and finances. A blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above will mean DWI charges, but if you are a commercial driver or a driver under the age of 21, you will face an even lower measuring limit. If you are driving more than 30mph over the speed limit, have a minor under 16 in the car, have a BAC of .16 or above, are involved in an accident, or attempt to elude police, you will be charged with an aggravated DWI, which will increase your punishments and penalties.
First DWI Offense
A first DWI conviction in New Hampshire will result in a loss of your license for at least six months, while an aggravated DWI will result in a suspension for 18 to 24 months. This is a long time to have to get rides from other people or ride public transportation to get to work and home. Jail time for a first DWI conviction is not mandatory, but if you are convicted of an aggravated DWI, the minimum sentence is ten days in jail. As far as fines, you will be responsible for fines of anywhere from $500 to $750, depending upon your charge. This will not include the additional fees that are associated with court, sentencing requirements or reinstatement fees, including the need for SR22 insurance coverage. As you can see, an aggravated DWI will cause your punishments and penalties to significantly increase.
Second DWI Offense
If you are convicted of a second DWI within ten years of the first, you will have your license suspended for a minimum of 3 years. Jail time if you have a second DWI within two years of the first is a minimum of 30 days, but if it is longer than two years, it will be a three day minimum jail sentence, but can increase from there, depending upon the other factors of your arrest. A minimum $750 fine will be imposed as well, but this will not include the installation of an ignition interlock device, drug/alcohol treatment or counseling, court fees, lawyer fees, and the additional cost of SR22 auto insurance. A sentence of 7 days in a multiple DWI detention center will be mandated and alcohol and drug treatment and counseling is possible as well. Keep in mind that an aggravated DWI can cause these punishments and fees to increase even more.
Third DWI Offense
A third DWI offense within ten years means that you will lose your license for an indefinitely period of time. You can apply for reinstatement from the court after 7 years if you meet their requirements, which will be strict and financially difficult. Jail time will be a minimum of 180 days and you will have to spend at least 28 days in a residential treatment program as well after you have served your jail time. A minimum fine of $750 will be imposed, but this will not include court fees and other fees that you are responsible for to carry out your sentence. SR22 insurance will be required to have your license reinstated, as will an ignition interlock device, etc.
When you are convicted of a DWI/DUI in the State of New Hampshire, you want to be sure that you get the legal help that you need to make it through the legal process. A lawyer is a necessity to deal with these severe charges to ensure that your rights are taken care of.